The 5th of November

It’s that day again. „Remember, remember the 5th of November“. I read that on Twitter quite a lot today and I also thought of it when I looked at today’s date.

You all know what this is about, right? This the day when in 1605, Guy Fawkes and his allies planned to assassinate King James I and the Lords of the Parliament by planting tons of gunpowder beneath the House of Lords. As is often the case, the reason they wanted to kill the king was a religious one: James I was a protestant king and didn’t really make life easy for the Catholics so Fawkes and his group wanted to replace him with a Catholic head of state.

But the Gunpowder Plot failed, Fawkes and his friends were hanged, quartered and what other methods there were of killing a man, and each year, the English celebrate the failure of the plot by having fireworks and bonfires on the night of the 5th of November. Quite a nice tradition, I think – New Year’s Eve come early ;)

This song isn’t really about Guy Fawkes or the Gunpowder Plot but it is what I always think of whenever I hear „5th of November“. Why? Listen to the last line John Lennon sings and you’ll know why. (God only knows why he put it in that song.) Besides, I like the song in and of itself.

Kommentar verfassen

